The Square Hijab Question


 To wear or not to wear?…that is the question!
 
All the Islamic clothing websites are all about amira’s and shaylas, blogs are posting about it and there is no way around it.  Shayla’s have made a permanent mark in the Islamic clothing industry.  We used to purchase from manufactures in Jordan when they were copying the styles of Dubai, who were copying the styles of Saudi, who were purchasing from India and who are all now purchasing from China.
 
There is nothing wrong with that on a basic level we suppose, we won’t get political about it, but we are interested in the fact that China has 1%-2% of it’s population according to wikipedia .  A few years back we were especially happy to carry Muslim manufactured and produced shaylas from the Muslim Chinese provinces.  But now, the made in China tag doesn’t really have a face to its production, only a name.  With a little investigation, I am sure we can find out who actually produced these made in China pins, the made in China hijabs and the made in China underscarfs, but we decided to have husnal dhun (benefit of the doubt) that these are all from the labor of Chinese Muslims, and we are happy to have them online.

 

 square_leena_purple

So what does this have to do with square hijabs? 
 
To answer this simply, they are just non existent!  Ask anyone here how fun it is to open a shipment, get first dibs on the merchandise and plan for the new outfits purchased elsewhere.
I purchased an abaya online (yes, we love to support other Muslim clothing business’) and this dark green abaya would only look right with a square hijab.  So my online search began, maybe 2-3 sights carry them.  None of them worked for me.  Either they were not the right fabric, size, the shipping too high, or the color not right.  Finding the perfect shade of olive is just as difficult finding the perfect shade of brown.
 

During Ramadan I brought to the table purchasing square hijabs…are they “out of style” (whatever that means to you), or are they “old looking”? Do people still wear them? Here on the West Coast where we think Muslims are quite “fashion conscious” are not seen wearing them.  There are plenty of blogs that promote fashion, so we welcome you to blog on that subject, but our concern was finding them.
 

So, we thought we would bring them back for those ladies who feel that “I can’t wrap a shayla right” or “Amiras make my cheeks look big” delema?…case solved.
 

 

11 Comments

  1. Nour said,

    October 26, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    I live in Michigan, and I’m seeing shayla, squares, dupatta, everything from everywhere, worn everyway with everything from traditional clothes to what’s “in” this season.
    What I can’t find are professional skirt suits. Corporate style long tailored skirts and blazers. Any ideas?
    Thanks

  2. Charise Collins said,

    August 15, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    The only square hijabs I like are those “turkish gauze” ones–you had a blue and white on on this site a while ago. They’re soft, thinner, and stretchy! It’s my favorite; I think Alhannah sells them in different colors and designs, but all the ones I like are out of stock, much like a lot of the muslim clothing online if you want plain black or white…

    • almuhajabat said,

      August 15, 2010 at 3:20 pm

      Yes, we love this fabric too! We plan to bring more back…they sell so quick masha Allah!

  3. Nadia said,

    April 30, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    I myself have been having a most difficult time finding square hijabs. When I was younger, I used to wear the square hijabs…then shaylas came to market and for the longest time, I resisted…I could not bring myself to wear them. Then I gave in, and I bought so many. But with all the ones that I bought, I’d wear a black scarf underneath to make the shayla fit properly around my face…if I didn’t wear the scarf underneath, it wouldn’t look right. It was okay for a couple of years, but then I got tired of it and realized it would just take too long in the morning to put on my hijab, and even with that, for some reason, I would have to adjust it during the day as well. So I said, “Good riddance” to the shaylas and went back to using square, which are SO much more comfortable, take less time in the morning to put on, and don’t give me a headache, unlike the shaylas. I am having a hard time finding square hijabs online though…I usually find some on eBay, or some hijab websites like this one have a few that are listed as well, but these sites are far and few, unfortunately. Thank you for keeping some in stock.

    • almuhajabat said,

      April 30, 2010 at 1:17 pm

      Salams! We love your comments! It is difficult for us to get them as well, but when we do, we will have them in stock for sure!

  4. Mombeam said,

    April 18, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    as-salaamu `alaykum

    I am SO GLAD I am not the only one who still wears–and can’t find– square hijabs. I wear solid colors too, no prints which makes things even harder.

    • almuhajabat said,

      April 18, 2010 at 1:57 pm

      Good to hear, I wear them too! We’re having 10% off this week April 18- April 30 ENJOY

  5. Jennifer said,

    April 1, 2010 at 11:53 am

    I wear square hijabs and live in Kuwait at the moment. I’m from California and Texas. I have to wear square because most shaylas aren’t wide enough to cover my chest and my forehead doesn’t look right with the shaylas. I have noticed the boom in shaylas all over the place and the lack of options in square hijabs. PLEASE keep square hijabs in stock! Thank you

  6. Laura said,

    February 7, 2010 at 3:58 am

    I wear whatever whenever, I have all kinds personally – typically though I prefer a certain type of scarf and the seller gets hers from Egypt and I know they are made there – I love them mainly because they do not wrinkle (they are crinkle fabric) and they are shayla style. If they were square I would wear them though also. Another good plus is that the price is around $8 each. I never have problems finding square hijabs locally.. although the price is typically higher than online.

  7. Melissa said,

    November 7, 2009 at 6:25 am

    I wear square hijabs most of the time, I love them. I can put them on and be ready to go much faster than if I wear a shalya.
    I live here on the west coast, I don’t think they’re out of style at all.

    • almuhajabat said,

      November 7, 2009 at 5:15 pm

      I agree! I love the patterns when they are nice floral designs too.


Leave a Reply

